SFMOMA

07Dec10

Over the last few days I’ve been in battle with American coat sizes.  For once in my life I had no problem whatsoever finding jeans that were long enough for me, but I was thwarted by coats.

Seriously, do North American women have crazy short arms?  That can surely be the only sensible explanation for the fact that I tried on every single coat in Macy’s, Nordstrom, H&M, Gap, Forever 21 and basically every other chain store in the city yesterday with absolutely no bloody success.  I had another go this morning after going on a free walking tour on the 1906 earthquake, but after another hour of fruitless searching I gave up in a huff and headed towards the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, or SFMOMA.  But!  On my way I passed one final store, gave it a go, and success!  Bargain coat purchased!

Anyway, that’s a long introduction to say: I went to SFMOMA this afternoon.  And it was fantastic, the perfect antidote to coat-induced rage.  Stunning building, interesting exhibits, and the most beautiful afternoon tea I’ve ever had.

A wooden tray holds a glass teapot (full of tea), a small glass cup, a small beaker full of milk, and a tray of an assortment of cookies.

Look at that thing!  The cafe is run by Blue Bottle Coffee, apparently a SF institution, and while they’re known for their coffee the woman took making my tea very seriously.  There was even a timer involved so that it brewed for just the right amount of time.  The cafe is on the roof, and overlooks a sculpture garden.

The sculpture garden at SFMOMA.  In a courtyard stands a tree with bright yellow leaves; in the background is a wall of glass, behind which are tables and chairs.  Surrounding tall buildings are visible.

The exhibits were a wonderfully eclectic mix.  A big retrospective on Henri Cartier-Bresson, a rather disturbing exhibition on “Voyeurism, Surveillance, and the Camera Since 1870” and a small but lovely look at the design of wine, of all things.

So yes, long story short: SFMOMA is good for the soul.

One Response to “SFMOMA”

  1. 1 Candice

    I love your blogs.. MORE MORE!


Leave a Reply

