You say tomato…

07Jan11

Every time I come to the US (and to a lesser extent Canada) I’m always surprised by how much trouble people have with my accent. Maybe it’s because Australians are raised on a steady diet of American tv, whereas all Americans have to go on is Nicole Kidman and Steve Irwin. It’s quite easy in this country to start to get a complex about being apparently unintelligible.

For example: I say “tomato basil soup” and the guy gives me “pollo e pasta soup” instead. These are two phrases that I would’ve said sounded nothing alike, but apparently not. I’m not sure there’s a food item that’s more guaranteed to cause accent confusion and angst in the US than tomato basil soup, unless it was served in aluminium with some oregano sprinkled on top.

No Responses Yet to “You say tomato…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

