Bloomin’ lovely

09Apr11

(Apologies for the title.)

Before I arrived I had no idea cherry blossoms were such a big deal in DC. But apparently it’s DC’s “thing”? In 1912 the Japanese government gave the US 3,000 cherry blossom trees that were planted around the Tidal Basin, and almost 100 years and several more large gifts later the city is chock-a-block with blossoms around this time of year. There’s a festival… and lots and lots of tourists.

The peak flowering days were last week, but I’m not such a huge blossom fan that I’m willing to go and walk around in the crappy weather we’ve had lately (including a light dusting of snow). But on Thursday the rain had stopped, the sun was out, and I decided it was finally time for me to go down and see what all the fuss was about.

Turns out cherry blossoms en masse, when coupled with DC monumental architecture, are very attractive.

I love this photo. Should point out that this was a Thursday, and I'm pretty sure the couple had got all dressed up in their wedding gear on a weekday for the sole purpose of having photos taken amongst the blossoms.

 

Also stopped by the Jefferson Memorial, which I’m a little ashamed to say I’d never visited before.

The view from the front steps is pretty extraordinary.

Later in the day I gave blood at the Red Cross’ Foggy Bottom donor centre (hehe, Foggy Bottom). Much better experience there than the last time I donated at the Rockville centre, where I got a newbie who spent a good 10 minutes fussing over my veins.

Down the street was a lovely little green space which google helpfully tells me is Rawlins Park. Beautiful mass planting of magnolia trees in full bloom.

One Response to “Bloomin’ lovely”

  1. 1 Matt

    Who knew? Well, there ya go!


Leave a Reply

