Buying in bulk

03Jul11

Buying bulk balsamic and red wine vinegars, plus olive oil and the ingredients for home-made muesli, at my local Whole Foods. They even have a bulk salt bar. I love this supermarket so much.

(A short explanation for the sudden increase in photos: this month my book group is reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. Not usually my type of thing, but it’s hard to object to happiness, isn’t it? For our discussions at the end of the month we all had to name three or four things we’d do as part of our own “happiness project.” One of mine was to make a conscious effort to take better photos – it’s something I enjoy doing, in a very haphazard, ad hoc way with my little point and shoot digital. So I’ve committed to taking at least three photos a day, and posting at least one here. We’ll see how we go – as you may have guessed, the last couple of days haven’t been that exciting in chez Mads, hence the images of ducks and vinegar.)

3 Responses to “Buying in bulk”

  1. 1 matthew

    I’m totes ok with this “happiness project” as I also benefit from this new found creativity.

    Punch it!

  2. 2 Sandro

    Taking good photos is hard, and makes one appreciate composition more. And sometimes the auto-whatever on a digi camera can’t handle odd lighting etc. etc., so it can be a bitch. Charge on happines project.

    • 3 justsomethings

      True story: I thought the camera on my phone was broken earlier this week because all photos would come up as bright white squares. Turns out I’d left it on the “fireworks” setting so the photos were (correctly) hideously overexposed. So yeah, sometimes it’s the camera, and sometimes it’s the idiot operator.


Leave a Reply

