The Mall at Night

10Jul11

So, here’s a selection of the photos I took last night – cut from 300-odd down to 250 (deleting the blurry and generally crap), down to I think 39 of my favourites. As I said earlier I only intended to spend a couple of hours on the Mall, but after abandoning the Folklife Festival first for the Hirshhorn and then for my favourite cafe at Eastern Market I decided to walk up to Capitol Hill, seeing by that point in the evening the heat wasn’t actively trying to kill me.

I’m so glad I did. The light last night was incredible. I think it’d be pretty hard to take a bad photo with that sunset, but I’m still really happy with the ones I got of the Capitol Building. I’m particularly proud, though, of the ones I took after the sun set and I continued my walk down the Mall to the Washington Monument, the World War II Memorial, and the Lincoln Memorial. My camera is not all that crash-hot at taking night shots, but I think I did fairly well. Some of these are in black and white, both for the “artiness” of it, and the fact that my camera often takes better shots in that mode at night.

(I didn’t want to individually insert each of the photos, so they’re here as a gallery instead – click on any photo to get a larger version, and hover your mouse over each one for a description of where I took it.)

No Responses Yet to “The Mall at Night”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

