Weekend away…

22Jul11

image

… at home.

I’ve been a bit “meh” the last couple of weeks – the combination of the weather (heat today broke records), some stuff at work, some other little things, plus a little bout of homesickness has left me feeling a bit off kilter. When I found out on Monday that I’d be getting an unexpected four day weekend (work schedule changed) I thought i’d take the chance to go away for a few days, see somewhere new.

However! Because of the short notice everywhere I looked at was either too expensive or booked out. Or too hot. Curses. But! I decided to take a holiday anyway. Which is why I’m currently living it up in the comfort of the Sheraton Suites… in Alexandria, Virginia. (For those of you who don’t live on this side of the Pacific, Alexandria is just south of the District, still in the greater DC area – I got the metro here). I got a really good deal on the room rate, plus on dinner – because it was over an hour late it only cost me ten bucks, and the second glass of wine was free.

Hooray for “staycations”?

3 Responses to “Weekend away…”

  1. 1 Housemate

    And comes with tiny bottles of ketchup! Have a wonderful weekend away.

  2. 2 Sandro

    I love it, you’re a pioneer. Two suggestions: first, perhaps someone at the Sheraton can give you a pastoral care touch; second, don’t go all Dominique Strauss-Kahn on anyone. That is all.

  3. 3 justsomethings

    I think the suggestions “get a pastoral care touch” and “don’t go all DSK” could possibly be mutually exclusive.


Leave a Reply

