So…

19Nov11

I guess I still have a blog? That I haven’t updated in over two months? Yeah. Sorry about that. September was insane, with conferences and board meetings and receptions and curriculum development (seriously), and then October I was off galavanting across this great country (Skyline Drive, Charlottesville, Blue Ridge Parkway, Asheville, Raleigh, Beaufort, Wilmington, the Grand Canyon, Las Vegas, Death Valley, Mono Lake, Yosemite, Santa Cruz!), then there was another reception and a quick jaunt to New York and now it’s November and oh my god I’m going home in three weeks. Three. Weeks.

So I’m not going to try and do an in-depth update that covers everything I’ve done over the last two months, because then I wouldn’t write anything and the blog would never be updated again. Instead, here – have a few more disconnected thoughts and photos that vaguely reference what I’ve been up to.

***

The new MLK memorial is ugly. And inappropriate. and the quote is wrong. In fact, pretty much everything to do with the memorial has been mired in controversy.

But I’m not ashamed to admit that I got a little teary listening to the speeches at the dedication ceremony.

***

I listened to the speeches on a crappy tv at a tiny regional airport near Beaufort, North Carolina. If you’re ever in the area, you should stay at the Inlet Inn in Beaufort, because you can have views like this out our bedroom window:

If you do go to Beaufort and stay at the Inlet Inn, you should cross the road and go to the Beaufort Grocery for dinner. AMAZING.

***

Other places you should eat? Lincoln, in downtown DC. Go for the million pennies stuck to the floor, stay for the pork belly and beans.

***

You should all visit Death Valley. As soon as possible. Right now, preferably. Because that place is insane, and definitely one of the all-out highlights of our trip. It’s the hottest, driest, lowest places in the United States. It also frequently looks like the moon.

***

Don’t bother visiting Las Vegas. Or, if you do, visit before you go to the Grand Canyon. The cognitive dissonance between the natural grandeur of the Grand Canyon and the disgusting conspicuous consumption of Vegas (all I could think was “carbon footprint”) was just a tad jarring.

Yes, that is indeed a drunk bride standing in a flowerbed.

***

I may not have been updating the blog, but I have been updating my Reading list. Up to 26! That means four to go before December 5. Definitely doable, particularly seeing as I finish work on Monday.

***

Finishing work! Craziness! I’ll be really sad to say goodbye to everyone; they’re an amazing, inspiring group of people, and there are several projects just starting that I’m sorry I won’t be able to work on. However! There is the possibility that I’ll be back doing some work for them next year, so it’s not a forever goodbye, at least.

***

I’ve been following the Occupy protests at UC Davis today. There are many things in this country that make me so sad, and so angry, and so fearful for the future. And then there are other things that make me think that maybe it might all work out ok after all.

***

Some photos from (one of) the Occupy DC protests, taken back in mid-October.

Sorry about the date stamps on these photos, I was still working out how to use my new lovely camera.

***

The new lovely camera that I left, like an idiot, in the bathroom at the Met in New York last weekend. Arrgghh. This also means that I don’t have photos from the Occupy Wall Street protests, but we did go and have a look (just in time, as it turns out).

The park was a lot smaller than I was expecting, and it is literally across the road from the World Trade Center site.

***

Three weeks! Ahh!

No Responses Yet to “So…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

